If you no longer need a contact field, you can remove it by simply clearing its name in the Manage Fields dialogue. Note that this will remove all values associated with that field.
To remove a contact field:
1. Navigate to the "contacts" tab.
2. Click the "Manage Fields" button.
3. Find the contact field you want to remove and clear its name.
4. Click the "Ok" box to validate deletion.